I Love a Rainy Night

After class today Iknew that grilled cheese and tomato soup was the perfect meal for tonight’s dinner.  There’s nothing better on a rainy, damp evening than dunking half of your grilled cheese into a tasty, tummy-warming bowl of tomato soup.  Usually I just stick with Campbell’s tomato soup, but while I was grocery shopping (yes, I decided what I wanted for dinner and realized I had no cheese, no bread, and no tomato soup), I found this soup and had to give it a try.  I was not disappointed at all.  It was perfectly tomato, not too creamy or liquidy, just enough tomato texture.  Usually I have a hard time eating tomato soup without dunking my sandwich, or soaking it up with some crackers.  Not the case tonight…if you love tomato soup, but could go for something better than the usual, this soup is a must-try.

image

YUM.  I never have tomato soup without grilled cheese.  My dad used to not be a fan of me dunking my sandwiches, but my mom always encouraged it.  Grandma Janet wouldn’t be thrilled, but I have confidence she would have let me anyway.
image

Here’s a recipe I made last night – it’s quick and easy.  Perfect for those nights when you want something easy, but healthy.  I’ve also had this for breakfast or lunch.

Wilted Swiss Chard

  1. Heat EVOO in a pan.
  2. Chop stems of swiss chard and cook until beginning to soften.
  3. Add chopped leaves and toss occasionally, allowing to wilt.  When leaves begin to wilt, drizzle Balsamic Vinegar (I like to use different flavors, this time I used Apricot White Balsamic).
  4. Season with salt and pepper to taste, and serve as desired.

This time I put my swiss chard on a plate, added some chopped tomatoes, drizzled with salad dressing and topped with a runny egg (sometimes there’s nothing better than a runny egg – I’ve been experimenting with what runny eggs taste great on.  Other times I have added corn and rice.  You could also use it on a sandwich or burger – so many options!

Leave a Reply

