Five Days of Thanks: Day 1

It is hard to believe that it is already the week of Thanksgiving!  Usually around this time I’m already gearing up for the large amounts of tasty food that will be consumed, but rarely stopping to take the time to be truly thankful for everything wonderful in my life.  So, in the spirit of Thanksgiving, I decided to kick off 5 days of thanks.  I will be sharing something that I’m thankful for each day – sometimes something big, sometimes something small.  Most often, it’s the little things in our lives that we forget to appreciate.

Right before sitting down to write this, I was reading an article for my Dance Research class.  It had me thinking, not just about the topic, but also about how I would probably not be exposed to most of these readings without being in some type of dance graduate program.  So, to kick off my Days of Thanks, I am thankful for my access to my education.  I have the opportunity to dance with amazing dancers, work with aspiring choreographers, and have discussions with truly intelligent peers and colleagues.

Last night I was able to watch a stunning performance, choreographed by faculty and performed by students.  Following that was a reception that a friend and I had the opportunity to host.  While it was a lot of work, it was worth it.  We were able to spend time together, and then we were able to talk with the performers.  It brought so many talented people into one room – talented people who I am now amongst each and every day.  And for that, I am truly grateful.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

