25 Days of Christmas: Day 19

Being and feeling at home.

 

I love being home with my parents, but since I finished the semester, I didn’t really have any time to feel at home.  I had the day off on Tuesday, and went shopping on Main Street.  I headed into my favorite candle and soap shop to pick up a couple things, and was greeted by the owners, and caught up with them on the busy holiday season.  It was so nice to see their friendly, familiar faces.  They became a part of my extended support system over the summer, and I hadn’t seen them since.  From there, I continued down main street with my friend, Sarah, and we stopped into the local coffee shop to get coffee.  It was like I never left!  I love Starbucks, don’t get me wrong, but it’s not the same as going in and having the owner know you and make your coffee just how you like it.  This time, feeling at home meant visiting the local shops and seeing the faces I would see so frequently over the summer.

Leave a Reply

