Totally Drained

You know those weeks where you have one big event, and then the rest of the week just completely pales in comparison?  No?  Well, that’s been my week this week.  All of last weekend through Tuesday my week revolved around writing a paper and practicing to present it – all while trying to calm my unnecessary anxiety.  Leftovers took over all of my meals, and time to do other work was pretty minimal.  I spend all of my time either working on/practicing my paper, or trying to relax.

Wednesday morning, Scholar’s Day 2013, was finally upon us.  I dressed up, all professional, and headed to campus early.  The time before starting was dreadful.  Finally, 9am arrived, and I presented my paper on bringing together somatic practices and choreography.  I did it!  It felt great, and I felt completely accomplished the rest of the day.  The rest of the day was taken over by other people’s presentations, ending with the presentations of our comp work inspired by Trisha Brown.

When I got home I had some dinner (I finally cooked myself something – pasta with shrimp and spinach), and tried to do some reading.  I literally could not get more than 2 or 3 pages out of it….my brain would not take in any more information.  I was able to get some organizational things done, and during the day today I accomplished almost everything on my to-do list.  But now, as I sit here Thursday night, I realize that no matter how hard I try – the reading is not happening tonight.  I’m drained.  Totally Drained.  Basically, my body and mind worked in overdrive to push through Scholar’s Day, it’s working extra hard during the days on campus, and when I come home I’m not ready to do some work yet.  Let’s hope this is just temporary, because from here on out we’re in for a long haul as the semester comes to a close.

 

Leave a Reply

